Sat 15 August 2020
You are here: Home > News > New Writing
New Writing
Tue 8 Apr 2003
'The International Journal for the Practice and Theory of Creative Writing' is edited by NAWE members Graeme Harper and Richard Kerridge. Contributions are now invited.
This new journal seeks to bridge the gap between creative writing on campus and the worlds of writing and publishing.

Three times a year, New Writing will publish some of the best creative work from university and college creative writing programmes worldwide, alongside interviews with writers, articles about creative writing teaching methods and creative writing research, debates in the subject and analysis of the relationship between creative writing on campus and the relevant creative industries.

New Writing offers an international forum for creative writing of the highest quality and a platform for debates about creative writing teaching and practice in universities and colleges. The editors invite submissions of critical articles and creative work in any of the areas mentioned above, and in all genres. Articles should be between 2,000 and 5,000 words in length; creative work should be not be more than 5,000 words in length. All submissions to New Writing are subject to peer review.

Contributors to the first, Special Issue, are planned to include: Anna Davis; Maggie Gee; Mo Hayder; Alison Lurie.

Suggestions for future 'Special Issues' are welcome: please contact the editors to discuss possible themes and subjects.

Papers should be sent to:
Graeme Harper & Richard Kerridge, Editors
New Writing, c/o Multilingual Matters

Introductory Subscription Offer

Individual subscribers £9.99/US$19.00/E18.00 for the two issues due to be published in 2004.
Subscribe now and get the FREE bonus issue to be published in September/October 2003.

In addition, if you cancel your subscription within 3 weeks of receiving that first issue, you will receive a full refund.

Libraries/Institutional subscription rate is £39.95/US$64.95/E 59.95 for the two issues due in 2004 plus the free bonus issue in September/October 2003.

Inaugural Peer Review Board Members include:
Lisa Appignanesi (independent writer, UK)
Liam Browne (Brighton Festival)
Jon Cook (University of East Anglia, UK)
Peter Ho Davies (University of Michigan, USA)
Tony Lopez (University of Plymouth, UK)
Stephen Muecke (University of Technology, Sydney, Australia)
Paul Muldoon (Princeton University, USA)
Rob Pope (Oxford Brookes University, UK)
Harriet Tarlo (Bretton Hall, University of Leeds, UK)

Contact Information:
Multilingual Matters