Tue 23 January 2018
Guest Speakers
Conference Programme
Guest Speakers
Previous Events
You are here: Home > Writing in Education > NAWE Conference > Guest Speakers

Guest Speakers 2017

Friday and Saturday conference evening readings 2017

Each year the NAWE conference brings some of the biggest names in contemporary literature to give inspirational entertainment.

On Friday 10th November our guest will be


Sarah Howe

Sarah Howe is a British poet, academic and editor. Her first book, Loop of Jade (Chatto & Windus, 2015), won the T.S. Eliot Prize and The Sunday Times / PFD Young Writer of the Year Award. Born in Hong Kong to an English father and Chinese mother, she moved to England as a child. Her pamphlet, A Certain Chinese Encyclopedia (Tall-lighthouse, 2009), won an Eric Gregory Award from the Society of Authors. She is the founding editor of Prac Crit, an online journal of poetry and criticism. She has held fellowships at the University of Cambridge, at Harvard University's Radcliffe Institute and at University College London.





On Saturday 11th November our guest will be


Bernardine Evaristo

Bernardine Evaristo is the author of seven books of fiction and verse fiction that explore aspects of the African diaspora – past, present, real, imagined. Her latest book is Mr Loverman, about a septuagenarian Antiguan-Londoner who is closet homosexual (Penguin 2013). Other works include LaraBlonde Roots and The Emperor’s Babe. Her writing also spans the genres of short stories, essays, poetry, literary criticism, stage and BBC radio writing. 

Two of her novels have been adapted into BBC Radio 4 dramas. She has edited several publications including the 2012 centenary winter issue of Poetry Review, the poetry journal of the Poetry Society of Great Britain. She has held several international fellowships and undertaken over 150 international tours as a writer. She was the Montgomery Fellow at Dartmouth College, USA, in 2015 and she is currently Professor of Creative Writing at Brunel University London.

She has chaired and judged many oliterary prizes including the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, the Caine Prize for African Writing, the Goldsmiths Prize for innovative fiction, the T.S.Eliot Award for Poetry, the Orange Award for New Writers and the National Poetry Competition. She founded the Brunel International African Poetry Prize in 2012, which has brought African poetry to the fore. All the winning and most of the shortlisted poets have now had chapbooks published with the African Poetry Book Fund in the USA. She also founded the The Complete Works poets' mentoring scheme. Since its inception, most of the poets who have been on the scheme have achieved publication success including Mona Arshi, Malika Booker, Sarah Howe, Nick Makoha, Warsan Shire and Karen McCarthy Woolf. Earlier initiatives include co-founding Spread the Word writer development agency in 1995 and co-founding Theatre of Black Women in the 1980s.

She has won many awards for her writing and she was was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2004, joined its Council in 2016 and became a Vice Chair in 2017. She was made a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts in 2006, and  Fellow of the English Association in 2017. She was appointed an MBE in the Queens' Birthday Honours List in 2009. www.bevaristo.com