Fri 18 September 2020
You are here: Home > News > Wales Book of the Year 2010
Wales Book of the Year 2010
Thu 1 Jul 2010
NAWE member Philip Gross has won the Wales Book of the Year 2010 for I Spy Pinhole Eye - a collection of poems published by Cinnamon Press. Philip's article, focusing on the book, was published in Writing in Education No. 49 and the book was reviewed (together with The Water Table) in No. 50.

The announcement was made on Wednesday 30 June at a Gala Dinner at St David's Hotel in Cardiff, introduced by BBC Wales Political Editor, Betsan Powys. Gross was presented with the £10,000 prize by Minister for Heritage, Alun Ffred Jones.

Philip Gross is the author of twelve poetry collections, including The Water Table which won the T S Eliot Prize 2010, as well as a fiction writer, dramatist and Professor of Creative Writing at Glamorgan University. He lives in Cardiff.

I Spy Pinhole Eye is a collaborative work between poet and photographer. Simon Denison uses a pinhole camera to transform that most mundane of objects - the footings of electricity pylons - while Philip Gross's poems explore the act of seeing and interpretation.

The judges for the 2010 English-language Award are poet and lecturer at the University of Wales, Ian Gregson (Chair); fiction writer James Hawes and broadcaster Sara Edwards.

The runners-up on the English-language Short List were Terri Wiltshire for her novel Carry Me Home (Macmillan) and Nikolai Tolstoy's The Compilation of the Four Branches of the Mabinogi (The Edwin Mellen Press). Both authors received a cheque for £1,000 each.

The winner of the Welsh-language award, who also received a £10,000 prize, was John Davies for his book Cymru: Y 100 lle i'w gweld cyn marw, published by Y Lolfa.