Mon 18 November 2019
In the Media
Digital Reading
Young Writers in the News
Books & Reading
Goings On
You are here: Home > Young Writers' Hub > Blog > Amy Sackville wins John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for The Still Point
Amy Sackville wins John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for The Still Point
Judges call novel 'breathtaking', predicting a future littered with international awards for the first-time author.

First-time novelist Amy Sackville was hailed as "a writer of seemingly limitless promise" this evening, as her book The Still Point took the John Llewellyn Rhys prize.

The chair of the judges, Claire Allfree, told guests at the award ceremony in Piccadilly that Sackville "took our breath away" with her use of language, while fellow judge Bidisha predicted that the young writer would go on to win "dozens of other awards internationally" in her career.

The £5,000 John Llewellyn Rhys prize rewards the best work of literature by a UK or Commonwealth writer aged 35 or under, and has marked out many who have gone on to become major literary figures, including V S Naipaul, Angela CarterMargaret Drabble and David Hare. Last year's winner was Evie Wyld, awarded for her debut novel After The Fire, A Still Small Voice.

The Guardian

Comments & Opinion

To add a comment about this news story please click the link below. Please note all comments are moderated before appearing.

Add Comment
Comment History
We currently have no comments for this Blog.