Mon 22 April 2024
Events
NAWE aims to put creativity at the heart of education. NAWE is a charity funded largely by its members fees and donations.
Jobs
Events
Competitions & Submissions
Mentoring & Coaching
Retreats
Manuscript Appraisals
You are here: Home > The Writer's Compass > Events & Opportunities > Events > Living Room Craft Talks: The Sixth Series with Ellen Bass and guests
Living Room Craft Talks: The Sixth Series with Ellen Bass and guests
Fri 1 Mar 2024 to Fri 19 Apr 2024
If you want to learn more about the strategies you can employ to write poems that are vivid, engaging, meaningful and complex, join me in the Living Room Craft Talks: The Sixth Series.

I’ll be presenting practical teachings that you’ll be able to put to use at whatever stage of development you’re at—whether you’re just beginning, somewhere in the great middle, or are an accomplished and published poet.

The topics for this series are: Endings; Science and Poetry; The Things of This World; Persona Poems; Location, Location, Location; and Juxtaposition. We’ll be reading exemplary poems from a large and diverse group of poets. And there will be guest appearances from: Billy Collins, Nikky Finney, Carolyn Forché, Maria Popova, Patricia Smith, and Arthur Sze! As we study each week’s subject, we’ll also examine other essential aspects of the craft, including image, syntax, form, diction, music and tone.

These talks are focused on poetry, but prose writers are welcome. The precise attention to structure and language will enrich your work as well.

If you haven’t attended the previous talks, that’s fine. Each series is independent.

Dates: March 1, 8, 15, 22, April 12 & April 19, 2024 at 12 – 2:15 pm ET | 11 am – 1:15 pm CT | 10 am – 12:15 pm MT | 9 am – 11:15 am PT (and recorded for viewing through May 31, 2024)
Location: Live Online via Zoom
Cost: US $300 (Full and partial scholarships available)

Further info and to book here

Additional Information:
Location:
Online
Region(s):
International
Price:
US $300 (Full and partial scholarships available)

Back to Latest Events